St. John's C.E. Primary School

Types of Governors

The Governing Board of St John’s Church of England Primary School has fourteen (14) governors, as defined by its Instrument of Government. All Governors are volunteers and consist of 8 foundation governors and 6 representative governors.

The foundation governors are categorized as follows:

  • 2 are nominees of the London Diocesan Board for Schools
  • 4 are nominees of the Parochial Church Council of St John the Apostle Church, Whetstone
  • 1 is elected by the Deanery/Synod
  • 1 is the incumbent vicar of St John’s Church as ex officio foundation governor

The representative governors comprise:

  • 1 Headteacher
  • 1 nominated by the local authority
  • 1 elected by the staff
  • 3 elected by the parents

We also have associate members of the Governing Board that serve on one or more Governing Board committees in order to bring their expertise. They may also attend Full Governing Board meetings but are not governors.  They are permitted to vote on the committee that they are a member of, but not permitted to vote at Full Governing Board meetings.

Clerk: By law, every Governing Body must have a clerk. The clerk’s role centres on governing body meetings – to inform governors of the meeting, prepare and distribute the agenda, write the minutes, give procedural advice at the meeting and carry out follow-up correspondence.

Our current clerk is Clerks Associates.

Governors can be appointed to a term of office from 1 to 4 years.  Each year the Board elect a Chair, Vice Chair and committee members elect the Chairs of Committees.